Jesus is betrayed and arrested

The following play is a scene of Jesus getting arrested because Judas betrays him.  Jesus is in the Garden of Gethsemane.  It is taken from John 18 and Matthew 26.

Image

JESUS IS BETRAYED AND ARRESTED

(Judas entering with an cohort of Roman soldiers carrying swords and clubs)

JUDAS: The one I will kiss is the man.  Seize him!

JUDAS: (kissing Jesus) Greetings, Rabbi.

JESUS: Whom do you seek?

SOLDIER: Jesus, the Nazarene.

JESUS:  I am he.

Soldiers all draw back and fall to the ground.

JESUS:  Whom do you seek?

SOLDIER: Jesus the Nazarene

JESUS: I told you I am He.  Take me and let these men go their way.  (pointing to his disciples)

JESUS: (to Judas, sorrowfully) Friend, do what you came to do.

Soldiers enter and lay hands on Jesus, seizing him.  

SIMON PETER: (takes out sword and cuts off Malchus’ ear)

JESUS: (sternly) Put the sword back in its place.  For all who take the sword will perish by the sword.  Do you think that I cannot appeal to my Father and he will at once send me more than twelve legions of angels.  But how then should the scriptures be fulfilled that it must be so?

JESUS: (to Roman cohort) Have you come out as against a robber with swords and clubs to capture me?  Day after day, I sat in the temple teaching and you did not seize me, but all this has taken place that the scriptures of the prophets might be fulfilled.

Disciples leave Jesus.  Soldiers lead Jesus away.

2 thoughts on “Jesus is betrayed and arrested

  1. Brayan, it was so much fun to work with you. I think what I liked best about us working together was that we weren’t being mean to each other. Thank you for lots of fun!

    Love,
    Luana

    Like

  2. It was a lot of fun working with you, Lu. It was fun when we corrected each other and made a funny joke about it. I hope we can still perform the play some time.

    Love,
    Brayan

    Like

Leave a Reply

