MamaMantra

A new post on a friend’s blog inspired me today to spend some time thinking purposefully about parenting. Of course, parenting is a thing I do constantly, and think about regularly. But, if I’m honest with myself, I’m mostly winging it and leaning on Grace to get me through each day. Relying on God’s grace works for me, but there is certainly plenty more room for a more intentionality.

So, to cut through the mental clutter and chaos of motherhood, I’m taking up my friend’s mantle and asking myself this: When I am at rest in Heaven, what do I most hope my children will remember about their childhood and adolescence with me? What marks are most important for me to make on their hearts?  What do I hope my children will say after I’m gone?

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  1. They are certain that they were loved, wanted and valued sons and daughters, cherished as gifts from the Lord.
  2. They saw me live in a way that showed people are more important than things.
  3. They learned that love is a way we choose to behave toward others, not merely the fuzzy feelings we feel when we are with those we care about. Love never gives up and it always gives second chances.
  4. They know that God has a unique and important purpose for each of them–and they can change the world.
  5. They see the world as a place full of beauty, uniqueness and opportunity. There is something to learn from everyone.

I’m not 100% sure this is the final draft of this list, but it’s what came most naturally after thinking through what James and I tend to prioritize as we parent.  Now, to hone the focus.

One thought on “MamaMantra

  1. I certainly think we do think the world is a place of beauty in our family. I would like more snuggles from you so I feel more loved

    Love,
    Brayan

    Like

Leave a Reply

